
Observer report for Cherry Blossom Tournament (RCR – MERS1) 

 

Observer: Robert Rijnders 

 

Date: Feb. 27, 2010 

 

Place: Nijmegen 

 

Website or other source(s) of information: Website + additional newsletters 

 

Participants: 60 (NL, DK, FI, DE, FR, GB, PT, BE) 

 

Playing schedule: 4 rounds of 90 minutes 

 

Location: de Vereeniging – nice spacey venue (can hold up to 100 players)  

 

Equipment: Mahjong tables (some a bit wobbly, but in general okay), small(er) sets with 

numerical – these traditional sets are just fine, even when you’re used to playing with big tiles 

 

Refereeing: Sjef Strik and Martin Rep acted as referee by turn. No problems, other than one 

complaint that ‘Ippatsu’ is not a valid term for mahjong (‘Ron’ or ‘Tsumo’ should be used). 

For the complaining player (Frank Rostved) this was not handled adequately (see next page) 

 

Complaints: See above and next page  

 

Information  / communication during the tournament: No visible clock, but this was the 

first official (MERS) tournament where the gong was sounded 15 minutes before the end of 

the round: current hands where then to be finished, after which one more hand would have to 

be played (and finished, regardless of the 90 minutes deadline). Scores / standings where 

available in a timely matter 

 

Sessions: - 

 

Catering: Vouchers (2) for all players for a drink or a sandwich – additional f&b at own 

expense available at the bar. 

 

Prices:  1 – 3 and the special ‘Frans Roquas Trophy’ for the winner 

 

Conclusion: As usual a smooth tournament – the relaxed atmosphere probably contributes to 

the still growing popularity of Riichi in Europe  



To Observer Robert Rijnders 

 

In the first round, a Dutch player made the call "ippatsu" for going out. I called referee Sjef 

Strik - and told that it wasn't a valid call - so the shown hand was dead. Sjef told that it was ok 

- "a special Dutch rule" - so we played on as nothing was wrong. 

 

In break of round 1 and 2, I complained to both referees Sjef and Martin Rep, that the 

decision wasn't "by the EMA Riichi rules" (3.3.10/11). No changes made and information to 

all (foreign) players. Another player made the same call in round 2!! 

 

After round 3, Martin Rep told me, that I was right about the rule "going out call", but still no 

changes/information made. 

 

I also discovered that many Dutch players forgot to rotate the tile on a melded set to whom 

who discarded the tile - as said in rule 3.3.5. Somehow it disturbed my concentration!! 

 

What to do - next time I discover players/referees breaking the rules?? 

 

By the way, it was a good tournament. 

 

Regards,  

Frank Rostved 

 

Note from the observer: 

 

While Frank is absolutely correct that the only valid terms to be used are ‘Ron’ and ‘Tsumo’, 

it is not usual in Riichi tournaments to make a (big) point out of it. Contrary to MCR, where 

announcing mahjong with for instance the term ‘self pick’ will lead to a dead hand if the 

referee is called, this is not common in RCR. As a result of this, it is not in the rules as a 

‘violation’ as it is in MCR – this may have to be changed, according to what EMA decides.  

 

However, I feel that the complaint has not been handled adequately. There is no such thing as 

‘a special Dutch rule’ and it is certainly not common for all players to use that term (although 

Sjef argues that the Dutch have been taught this, I for one am not aware of this). As a matter 

of fact, most players choose ‘mahjong’ to be on the save side, as they are uncertain about 

which (Japanese) term to use. Martin and or Sjef should have used another explanation for 

their ruling, but I guess the bottom line is that they felt this to be a ‘petty complaint’.  

 

To be fair: I was informed by Martin about it and my initial reaction also was ‘so what?’ But 

as stated above, Frank is correct and it will be dealt with in the next release of the rulebook. 

 

The point on the tiles not being rotated correctly is of greater impact – players should stick to 

that rule, as it is vital for the game. Probably some players stick to the idea that as it is useless 

in MCR, it’s probably useless in RCR as well. This should be handled by the referee, but 

Frank did not make a call on this issue. 


